top of page

SASKATCHEWAN’S FIRST AFRICAN URBAN FASHION SHOW MEETS DESIGN

I invite you to experience Saskatchewan’s first-ever African Urban Fashion Show. I was inspired by the professionality and the story of these people and fashion houses to bring you a whole new photography style.


I will be talking about the techniques I used to capture the shots. Then I will explain my editing styles used for the individual models. Lastly, I want to talk about the culture and inspiring action taken during this Black History Month. I hope to represent and tell the story of their culture through my own experiences and give you resources to make sure black history month goes on throughout the year.


Unlike fashion photographers that set up photoshoots in fancy locations, a runway requires a more dynamic approach which is often not present in any other style. Any photographer will tell you; your camera will be engaged the whole show not to miss a single smile.



I wanted to make these people shine like a work of art while keeping the movement alive. Getting into the rhythm of the fast-paced show required you to keep up to speed with each individual model as they strut their stuff. I kept my equipment simple with a Nikon D5600 and a macro lens, hoping to catch more intricate details of the revolutionary outfits. The striking colors and unique patterns helped my camera snap into focus front and center. As the show progressed, I felt the models and the atmosphere relaxes further showcasing everyone’s individual personality. Below I chose my best work presenting these outfits presenting both up close and full body shots.


I chose to edit the individual’s photos following the principles of design and color to guarantee the focus on the models. I did so by choosing six images in that I strenuously removed people in the background and adjusted a multitude of aspects. I focused on each model individually through crisp modernism with distinct silhouettes. I wanted to convey a sense of their physical qualities and formal appearances seen in magazines. To display them, I used editing to bring in ambient lighting and decorations that completed the piece. I made sure these fashion houses stood out with the same outstanding genres as the stories they presented.










A Maasai necklace is traditional in east Africa and worn by the people of Kenya and Tanzania. Throughout Africa, jewelry was worn to show status, as a religious symbol, charm, or amulet.
















African prints often reflect the culture and often draw from the surrounding tales and proverbs. They all come together with unique characters and stories.



















African fashion often uses purple as a symbol of femininity. Purple is a deep and rich color that stands for the strong and beautiful nature of womanhood.



















Green is a color that shows growth, prosperity, and life. It can relate to the agricultural rebirth of the land as crops bloom with a new season.


















African streetwear has evolved a lot through different combinations of hip-hop, punk, and rap subcultures built on the foundation of combating the status quo.



















Styles like long sleeves and puffed shoulders, a full skirt, and a bow tied around the waist were commonly called a busuti inspired by the 19th-century Victorian dress.









Thanks to this amazing event hosted by BPES that inspired the next generation of black people in the community, especially the children and youth. By creating a space that celebrates, recognizes, and motivates black professionals to excel academically and professionally while transforming their communities. With their effort we got Saskatoon's first African Urban Fashion Show hosted by Remain Modern. Find them on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/bpesk


Keep finding your voice and be a part of the solution combatting racism and discrimination with an organization called Daughters of Africa. They promote collaboration and unity among African-descent Canadian women, racialized women, and others that share a common goal. Going to the BIPOC will help you integrate key concepts at their workshops while bringing you a community to your doorstep. See their events on Facebook: Daughters of Africa Resources Center Sk. Inc. | Regina SK | Facebook











Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page